Site menu:

About us

Herbaceous borderWe are a group of people with all sorts of backgrounds but with a common desire to help maintain the Botanic Gardens as one of the "jewels in the crown" of Christchurch.

We see the Gardens as more than a pretty park and take an interest in the plants that grow there and in the scientific and educational activities that go with having a Botanic gardens in the city.

Current committee members of the Friends of the Christchurch Botanic Gardens are:

  • President:
    Jeanette Christensen
  • Immediate Past President:
    Alan Morgan
  • Treasurer:
    Tracy Shui
  • Minute Secretary:
    Charles Etherington
  • Membership Secretary:
    Penny Martin
  • Correspondence Secretary:
    Graham Chick
  • Events Organiser:
    Mary Carnegie
  • Plant Propagation:
    Don Bell
  • Other Committee Members:
    Sandi MacRae
  • Ex Officio, Curator:
    John Clemens

Other Contacts:

  • Newsletter Editor:
    Bill Whitmore
  • Newsletter formatting:
    Maria Adamski
  • Guides Co-ordinator:
    Faye Fleming
  • Group guided walks:
    Pat Whitman
  • Garden Enquiries Info Centre:
    941-6840 x 7590
  • This website was created
    April 2012 by
    Murray Dawson
    for the Friends.


For more information you can email the Friends: